Accreditation Panel

The PLD Accreditation Panel is an independent panel responsible for reviewing accreditation applications from facilitators.

GaryHawke.pngGary Hawke - Chair

Gary Hawke retired from Victoria University of Wellington as Professor of Economic History and Head of the School of Government. Previously he was director of the Institute of Policy Studies. In 1988 he chaired the Working Party on Post Compulsory Education and Training, and has since served on Advisory Committees for the Ministry of Education, NZQA, and ERO.

MichaelAbsolum.pngMichael Absolum – Independent Expert Representative

Michael is a Director of Evaluation Associates Ltd and The Consortium for Professional Learning. He is on the interim executive of PLANZ. 

Michael has a background in teaching and educational psychology and the Education Review Office. He has been involved in professional development support for schools since 1996 and has always maintained a mission to ensure that all facilitators have the highest possible level of capability, and that all facilitation delivers fully on the contracted outcomes.

HohepaCampbell.pngHohepa Campbell – Kura Kaupapa Māori

Hohepa is currently working as a Tumuaki of a composite Kura Kaupapa Māori. In his career, he has taught Year 1 – Year 13 students. He has had extensive experience in Kura Kaupapa Māori for over 20 years.  Hohepa specialises in change management and for more than 10 years has been a statutory manager and professional learning leader for a range of educational schooling types and educational challenges. As a practitioner of Te Aho Matua, he is passionate about Māori pedagogical practice, Mātauranga Māori and effective practice to engage tamariki Māori and whānau Māori.  

RobynCurry.pngRobyn Curry- Primary / Special Schools Representative

Robyn is the Principal of Te Papapa School in Auckland. She has previously had leadership experience in both mainstream and special schools, and has also been a Leadership and Management facilitator with Team Solutions for three years. Te Papapa School has been involved in a variety of PLD over Robyn’s time as Principal, sourcing support from a number of different providers across a range of curriculum areas.

RobynIsaacson.pngRobyn Isaacson – Primary Sector Representative

Robyn is the Principal of Flaxmere Primary School, a U6 Full-Primary that has mainstream, reo rua and Rumaki classes.  The school operates from the New Zealand Curriculum and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa.

Robyn is also the current President of the Hawke’s Bay Primary Principals’ Association.  Prior to taking on a school leadership role Robyn worked as an Adviser for the Centre for Educational Development.

LizPatara.pngLiz Patara – Primary Sector Representative

Liz Patara is an experienced principal and is currently at Clyde Quay School in Wellington. Liz has had extensive involvement in the NZC and Maori achievement: NEMP, NMSSA, and BES research. She has served as an NZEI and Akatea president and is currently vice president of the Wellington Regional Primary Principals Association.

ChristinaThornley.pngChristina Thornley – Education Council Representative

Chris is Principal Advisor Teacher Education at the Education Council of Aotearoa New Zealand.  She manages the Appraisal of Teachers professional learning across English and Māori medium schooling and early childhood education. Chris has a background in initial teacher education, primary teaching and secondary school literacy research and professional development. Her doctoral research was in the area of teacher research and inquiry as professional development.

HuraeWhite.pngHurae White – Educational Contractor

Ko Tainui, ko Te Arawa, ko Murihiku ngā waka. Ko Ngāti Mahuta, Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Pikiao me Ngāti Ruahikihiki ngā iwi.

Hurae is an Educational Contractor with Amokura Associates, and is a currently providing service directly to schools through the Ministry of Education’s Mauri Tū, Mauri Ora programmes.  His experience includes teaching in Kōhanga Reo, and Kura and he has been Deputy Principal at a large dual medium school.

Hurae has made major contributions to many Māori medium initiatives and is dedicated to the revitalisation of Te Reo Māori.

rsz-mereana-anderson.pngMereana Anderson – Ngā Kura ā Iwi o Aotearoa

Mereana is the Contracts Manager for Ngā Kura ā Iwi and is responsible for the day to day operations of the Organisation.  Her experience includes 10 years teaching in both Primary and Secondary schooling from 2000 -2008 and 2015. 

Mereana was part of the PLD selection panel for Māori Medium in 2012 and has lead a range of Initiatives including the Tāmaki Tū Pakari Schooling Improvement cluster and the Rukuhia, Rarangahia; Aromatawai Ministry of Education Position Paper.